Episodio
AI writers room for building episodic shows: characters, world, arcs, episodes, then prompts.
Episodio is a browser-based writers room for serialized shows. You start from an idea or a generated Story Spark, define the world, characters, relationships and story structure, then develop episodes with continuity carried forward. It exports character, location and storyboard prompts plus scripts and JSON for use in other video and audio tools. It does not render video itself.
- Paid pricing
- Easy learning curve
What Episodio can do
- Infinite canvas Not confirmed
- AI agent Partial
- Node / flow builder Not confirmed
- Public API Not confirmed
- MCP server Not confirmed
3 of 26 capabilities confirmed
| Capability | Supported | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Text to image | No | Exports image-generation prompts for other tools; does not generate images |
| Image editing | No | |
| Text to video | No | Site states it does not produce video; it exports prompts |
| Image to video | No | |
| Video to video | No | |
| Native audio in video | No | |
| Lip-sync | No | |
| Voice / TTS | No | |
| Music & SFX | No | |
| Upscaling | No | |
| Character consistency | Partial | Narrative continuity of characters and world across episodes; visual identity is left to the downstream video tool via exported prompts |
| Camera control | Partial | Storyboard prompts are exported; no shot-level camera control inside the product |
| Custom training | No | |
| Third-party models | No |
| Capability | Supported | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Infinite canvas | Not confirmed | |
| Node / flow builder | Not confirmed | |
| AI agent | Partial | Guided four-step build (Build the story, Develop episodes) plus Story Sparks premise generation; no evidence it plans and executes multi-step work autonomously |
| Chat assistant | Not confirmed | |
| Team collaboration | Not confirmed |
| Capability | Supported | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Public API | Not confirmed | |
| MCP server | Not confirmed | |
| Mobile app | Not confirmed | |
| Desktop / local | Not confirmed | |
| Open source | Not confirmed |
| Capability | Supported | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | No | No free plan listed; the first-show guarantee is a 30-day refund, not a trial |
| Commercial use | Not confirmed | Terms page does not state who owns exported scripts and characters |
Yes Partial No Not confirmed by the vendor
What makes Episodio different
- 01
Story-first, not footage-first: it exports prompts, scripts and JSON, and does not generate video, so it sits beside generators rather than competing with them.
- 02
Continuity is the product: characters evolve and the world stays consistent across episodes, per the site, which is the part general chat tools leave to the user to track.
- 03
Export targets are concrete: character prompts, location prompts, storyboard prompts, scripts, fiction, and JSON assets; Pro adds EPUB and FDX.
- 04
Story Sparks generates original premises from nothing, useful when the creator has no idea yet (Pro-only).
- 05
Flat monthly pricing with an episode-build cap ($12.99 for 10 builds, $24.99 for 40) rather than per-token billing.
About Episodio
Episodio covers the story and pre-production layer that comes before a shoot or an AI video pass. The current flow has four steps: start with an idea or a Story Spark premise, build the story (world, characters, relationships, arc structure), develop episodes (scenes, dialogue, continuity), then export production-ready prompts. The site says it takes a creator from one idea to a show foundation (concept, pilot episode, character and location prompts, storyboard prompts) in under 10 minutes, and backs that with a 30-day money-back guarantee on the first show.
What changed in 2026 is hard to pin down. The site footer reads 2026, pricing is split into Starter ($12.99/mo) and Pro ($24.99/mo) with a Studio tier on request, and Pro adds Story Sparks, unlimited worlds and characters, an escalation engine, and EPUB and FDX export. The site has no changelog, blog posts or dated release notes, and no independent press coverage turned up in search.
It fits filmmakers and AI video creators who are building short serialized content, mainly vertical series for Instagram and TikTok according to the site. The practical role is upstream: lock the continuity bible and episode beats here, then carry the exported prompts into a video generator such as Higgsfield, Kling or Seedance. The site's only testimonial is a filmmaker claiming a 75% cut in pre-production time; it is unverified.
Key Features
- Character builder with traits that evolve across episodes
- World builder that keeps locations and rules consistent
- Story structure and relationship mapping in the Build the story step
- Episode development with scenes, dialogue and carried-forward continuity
- Story Sparks premise generator (Pro)
- Character, location and storyboard prompt export for other video tools
- Script, fiction and JSON asset export; EPUB and FDX on Pro
- Production Pack on Pro
When to reach for it — and when to skip
Reach for it when…
- Fills a real gap: continuity bible and episode planning for serialized content, separate from footage generation
- Flat monthly price with clear build caps, so cost is predictable
- Exports plain prompts and scripts, so it works with any video generator the creator already uses
- Operated by a UK company registered since 2012 (App Team Solutions Limited), which is more than most unknown writing wrappers
Skip it when…
- Does not generate video, images or audio; the creator still pays a separate video tool
- No changelog, blog or dated release notes, so 2026 feature changes can't be confirmed from the site
- No free plan or trial; the refund guarantee is tied to a 10-minute first-show test
- Founders are not named, and no independent reviews or press turned up in search
- Story and character ownership rights for generated material are not stated on the site
Best For
✓ Ideal for
- Writing a 6-episode vertical series for Instagram or TikTok and keeping characters straight
- Turning a rough logline into a pilot plus character and location prompts for an AI video pass
- Pre-production for a short-film series where the director needs storyboard prompts before a shoot
- Building a show bible that stays consistent across a season
✗ Not built for
- Anyone who needs video output inside one tool
- Feature-length scripts or single films better suited to a screenwriting app
- Creators who need a verified rights position on generated characters before publishing
Working Tips from Filmmakers Using Episodio
- 01 Lock the world and character rules in the first pass; continuity drift is the main thing this tool is meant to prevent
- 02 Use the Starter plan's 10 builds to test one full show foundation before paying for Pro; the first-show guarantee applies to new accounts
- 03 Export prompts, then edit them for the target model's word budget before generating anything, since the exports are not model-specific
- 04 Keep your own copy of the exported JSON; confirm the terms on ownership before using scripts commercially
Episodio pricing in 2026
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $12.99 monthly |
|
| Pro | $24.99 monthly |
|
| Studio | Custom enterprise |
|
Prices checked against Episodio's pricing page on 9 Oct 2026. Vendors change plans often, so confirm before you buy.
Episodio vs Claude vs ChatGPT
| Episodio | Claude | ChatGPT | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | From $12.99/mo (Starter, monthly billing); no free tier | Free; Pro $20/mo ($17/mo billed annually); Max from $100/mo | Free (ads, US) / Go $8/mo / Plus $20/mo / Pro $100 or $200/mo; Business about $20-25 per user/mo; Enterprise custom |
| Infinite canvas | Not confirmed | Partial | No |
| AI agent | Partial | Yes | Yes |
| Chat assistant | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes |
| Team collaboration | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes |
| Text to image | No | No | Yes |
| Image editing | No | No | Yes |
| Voice / TTS | No | No | Partial |
| Character consistency | Partial | No | Partial |
| Camera control | Partial | No | Not confirmed |
| Public API | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes |
| MCP server | Not confirmed | Partial | Partial |
| Mobile app | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes |
| Desktop / local | Not confirmed | Yes | Partial |
| Free tier | No | Yes | Yes |
| Commercial use | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes |
Each column comes from that tool's own researched page. "Not confirmed" means the vendor doesn't say.
Open the full Episodio vs Claude vs ChatGPT comparison →Use Cases
Tags
Alternatives
Sources
Facts on this page were checked against Episodio's own pricing, product and changelog pages on , then cross-checked with independent coverage where vendor pages were silent. Anything we couldn't confirm is marked "Not confirmed" rather than guessed.
- Episodio home page episodio.io
- Episodio pricing page episodio.io
- Episodio guarantee page (summary only; full terms behind a link) episodio.io
- Episodio blog (no dated entries found) episodio.io
- Companies House: App Team Solutions Limited find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk
- Claude pricing page claude.com
Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll re-check it.
Discussion
No comments yet — be the first.